Sri Lanka Council for Agricultural Research Policy

Ministry of Agriculture

Main thrust of Floriculture Research and Development were listed

  • Identification/improvement /production of novel ornamental plants and cut-                flowers to the industry
  • Mass propagation of quality planting materials
  • Developing new crop management and production techniques
  • Post-harvest technologies to improve vase life of the products
  • Pest and diseases control methods
  • Development of suitable cost effective cultivation methods for different agro-              ecologycal zones
  • Development of cut flower and foliage industry as micro rnterprises to upgrade         the income of the growers.
  • Committee Members

    This Committee undertakes coordination of research to produce novel varieties to cater local and foreign demands.

  • Prof. Sriyanie Pieris
  • Prof. R A S P Senanayaka
  • Dr. Chalinda Beneragama
  • Dr. Jayantha Senanayake
  • Dr. Kumari Fonseka
  • Dr. Shelomi Krishnaraja
  • Dr. S M P C. Padmini
  • Mr. I. Anandatissa
  • Mrs Malani Baddegamage
  • Mr. A. L. M. Zuhry
  • Mrs. Thushari Weerakoon
  • Mrs. Dayani Karunananda
  • Mr. S.A.S.K. Senadera
  • Mrs. M. Rupasinghe
  • Mr. M A Kularatne